Holiday Cards

So after all the wedding projects this year I was in serious need for some crafting time. I ordered my cards a bit early from one of my favorite sites, Minted. They are based locally out of San Francisco. Earlier this year I was asked to sit in on a focus group for their upcoming holiday card lineup. I took an hour out of my day and headed over to their office and at the end received a $200 gift certificate to use. So woo-hoo…holiday cards were free. I really love all their designs, and their paper quality is top-notch, they are my go-to site for any sort of invitation or holiday card.  I always like to add my own personal touch so I stamped the envelopes with some festive holiday stamps I had on hand.  {I used this one for the upper corner, and this one for the address location, both from Paper Source.}  I even ended up getting a photo calendar {that now doesn’t appear to be on their site} as well using wedding photos. I’m so excited for the new year so we can start using it.

I love calendars. Maybe too much. Last year I DIY’ed a calendar with the help from some of my favorite bloggers, Sherry and John at Young House Love. They have this great Photoshop file download that allows you to edit the text to fit your family. It’s been a great addition to our house this past year and it’ll go into the scrapbook after December 31 (or in the box of stuff that will someday turn into a scrapbook).

Anywho, I deposited my stamped, addressed, and stuffed envelopes into the mail yesterday. Here is a little preview of what the envelopes look like:

{i was a stamping maniac}

And I also found a great way to display the cards we will be receiving (we have three already, glad I’m not the only early bird out there).

It might be hard to tell by the photo (and the terrible lighting) but I used these great 3M Command Hooks that I bought at our local CVS store and some string that I already had on hand to create two clotheslines on where I can clip the cards. Like this:

And to make them look a little prettier I added those bows with leftover ribbon from last year.  It will look better with more cards. I’ll post an update when they get filled in. The great thing about those hooks is that you can easily remove them and there is no damage left to the surface. Husband is the most excited about that I think, no nail holes = happy hubby.

Do you send holiday cards out? Where do you shop for cards?

Leave a Reply

