Christmas Ornament DIY – 2011

Every year I like getting (or making) a special ornament that captures what happened in that year. 2011 was a BIG year for us. We became Husband and Wife and also became homeowners. Two pretty big milestones, wrapped up in the same year. I had seen a post a while ago about turning baby announcements into ornaments and decided to try to replicate it with our leftover wedding save-the-date and invitations (and envelopes…for color). Here is what I started with. All the paper products and my handy-dandy Fiskars paper cutter (bought with a 50% off coupon a while back). I also bought a clear plastic bulb ornament, also at Michaels.

After the slicing, and rolling and inserting the finished product looked like this

I added a little exterior tag with our wedding date, secured with bakers twine (also a fixture from 2011), and hung it on our tree. I think it looks pretty good.

I also made use of the address stamp from our old home. I bought it online at my favorite stamp retailer Paperwink and thought it would make an excellent ornament and keepsake. The home was the first place Matt and I lived together and we were there for four years. This new place is our first house, but the old place was our first home.
20111230-100523.jpg

One thought on “Christmas Ornament DIY – 2011

Leave a Reply

