DIY: Padded Headboard

I have seen a bunch of posts on Pinterest that were the inspirations for this project. This post has been two months in the making and I’m finally getting around to posting about it. I know…it’s late but better late than never. Here is what our topless bed looked like before the headboard. Pretty plain and boring.

20120702-203532.jpg

The materials list:

  • Fabric (I think I bought 3 yards)
  • 2″ foam (I bought the biggest strip they had at my local JoAnn’s)
  • Spray adhesive
  • Staple gun and staples
  • Wood (or a discarded headboard)
  • Patience (a must…you’ll learn why)
  • We started off with a discarded wooden headboard from friends which was a great template:

    20120702-203616.jpg

    Used our Ryobi hand sander to scuff it up a bit (totally a technical term):

    20120702-203653.jpg

    Then I laid the foam out and kinda traced and cut the right size to fit inside the lip of the headboard:

    20120702-204350.jpg

    But as I learned early in life you can’t put a square peg in a round hole piece of foam in a round headboard crevice. So I got creative…

    20120702-204506.jpg

    It doesn’t look great but it’ll do the job and I’ll be covering it with fabric so it really doesn’t matter what it looks like underneath. I then sprayed the wood with spray adhesive. And applied pressure to the foam ’til it stuck real good. Then came the fun part. I will preface this with the fact that I did this at the end of the day and “thought” it’s was going to be a quick project. I’ll refrain from using that kind of thinking in the future.

    Things started off great I laid the fabric down and made sure it was centered and lined up:

    20120702-204853.jpg

    Then I started stapling like a madwoman:

    20120702-204954.jpg

    Issue #1: not sure if it was the staples/staple gun/thickness of fabric/type of wood BUT those little staples sure didn’t like to go in the wood very well:

    20120702-205110.jpg

    Issue #2: since I was applying a lot of pressure to the board to make sure the staples were in nice and tight I ended up snapping the leg off the headboard. Crap.

    20120702-205214.jpg

    And close up…to see the damage:

    20120702-205500.jpg

    I don’t remember now if I intentionally removed the 2nd leg or if it came off on its own but either way this poor guy was legless for a majority of the stapling, which ended up being much easier to manage.

    20120702-210017.jpg

    Here is a front shot to show the awesome thickness of the finished product:

    20120702-211146.jpg

    I worked around the rough spots and got everything all stapled and in place before calling for help. I have been told/shown how to use the power drill (a few times) but it never seems to work for me (that’s right…I’ll blame it on the drill). So Matt came down to help me out and he saved the day by drilling new holes and screwing in the legs. The headboard has two legs again and a pretty new outfit to boot:

    20120702-210147.jpg

    While the front looks pretty darn decent the back is another story. This is the mullet of headboards…business in the front, party in the back:

    20120702-210258.jpg

    But we figure that only people creepin’ on the side of our house will see the back, and well there shouldn’t be any weirdos creepin’ on the side of the house so I think we are all good.

    So even though my this-should-only-take-45-minutes project turned into about a two hour ordeal and I had to bring in reinforcements it was worth it in the end we are very happy with our new padded headboard, it brings a lot of color to our room and keeps our pillows from sliding off the top of the bed and also allows for plenty of light and air to come in when the window is open:

    20120702-210856.jpg

    Have you tried to recover a headboard? How did it go?

Leave a Reply

