DIY: Lite Brite Canvas

I'm not quite sure what to call this project exactly but someone told me that it reminds them of a lite brite and I kind of agree. I had pinned a few examples on Pinterest (here, here, and here) and just decided to jump in and see what I came up with. 

I bought a 24"x24" canvas at Michaels with a 50% off coupon making it about $10. Good thing it's the holiday season because I also bought a strand of 100 white Christmas lights for $6 and got my trusty pencil and x-acto knife and just started plotting dots on the backside of the canvas. 

I started trying to make a cluster and then spread out from there. 

Lite brite_1

I also counted to make sure I made 100 marks, one for each light. I think I mis-counted because I had one extra hole…oops.

Lite brite_2

Then I just used my little knife and made a tiny slit. I went back and made a few bigger so the light would fit through but have a nice snug fit. 

Lite brite_3

Then I pushed the little lights through the little holes.

Lite brite_4

This is what the front looked like with lots of holes in it:

Lite brite_5

And the messy back.

Lite brite_6

The front with all the lights poked through.

Lite brite_7

There was a suggestion on one of the posts I saw that said to use craft glue to secure the bulbs to the canvas. I didn't have craft glue so I just used my trusty hot glue gun and it worked like a champ. Husband brought up the question of "What happens when you need to change a bulb?" To which I replied "I'll deal with that when the time comes." For now I'm happy. 

Lite brite_8

And the finished product. Voila!! 

Lite brite_9

I'm planning to put this somewhere in the baby's room and can just picture how nice the lighting will be in there during late night feedings and diaper changes and story time.

Breakdown: This project cost me about $16 (with my trusty Michael's coupons) and maybe 90 minutes total time? It went a lot faster than I expected it would. The longest time was going back to hot glue all the bulbs. 

2 thoughts on “DIY: Lite Brite Canvas

  1. Wonderful blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

